I’m thrilled to announce the hot-off-the-press publication of Pretty Smart: Lessons from our Miss Americas. I tracked down and seduced twenty-two former Miss Americas to meet with me and tell me their riveting stories about what it takes to achieve professional and personal success. My research revealed that these women are not just pretty, but pretty smart. In person they shatter the “it’s only a beauty contest” perception. It takes vision, discipline, drive and yes, brains to win the crown.

Contrary to popular opinion, the Miss America Organization had a liberal feminist agenda long before Betty Freidan wrote the Feminine Mystique, promoting higher education for women by providing scholarships starting in 1945 and opportunities for young women to advance their careers.

Pretty Smart is available on my website: http://www.pennypearlman.com, as well as amazon.com and barnesandnoble.com.

