The first visitors to my display table at the Miss America Pageant where I was selling and autographing my new book, Pretty Smart: Lessons from our Miss Americas, were two sisters, Judy Erk from Louisville, Kentucky and Connie Sams from River Falls, Wisconsin.  Two years ago when I first came to Las Vegas to make initial contact with former Miss Americas for my book, and when I was just a face in the crowd, I sat next to these two lovely ladies. 

A year later, I was there and so were they.  Seeing them was like a mini-reunion.  And then, this year, they were the first to show up, so excited that I had done what I said I would do and that my book was published.  That mini-reunion was full of exclamations of delight.  And of course, they couldn’t wait to purchase a book.  I was so thrilled to see them. Here we are.

Connie, me & Judy

Connie, me & Judy

And here’s more pictures of others who made me feel like a minor-celebrity.

miss-america-pageant-book-signing018

miss-america-pageant-book-signing020

miss-america-pageant-book-signing022

